The Councils & Directories

The Councils

The AIC provides investigative and administrative services to all the Alberta insurance councils in addition to administrative services to the Continuing Education Accreditation Committee.

The councils, formed under the Insurance Act, derive their authority from delegations from the Minister of the Alberta Treasury Board and Finance. They include:

• Insurance Adjusters Council
• General Insurance Council
• Life Insurance Council

The Insurance Councils derive their authority through delegations from the Minister of Finance and Enterprise, copies of those delegations can be viewed at the links below.

Delegations to the Insurance Councils

Alberta Insurance Council

Alberta Insurance Council April 1, 2013 (publications)

Insurance Adjusters’ Council
General Insurance Council
Life Insurance Council
Examiner Delegation CEO

Alberta Insurance Council

Name Position Representing
Vacant Chair Public
Andy Freeman Member Life Insurance Council
Vacant Member General Insurance Council
Vacant Member Public
Michael Ilnycky Vice Chair Insurance Adjusters Council

Insurance Adjusters Council

Name Position Representing
Michael Ilnycky Chair General Insurers
Lisa Evren Vice-Chair Public
Vince Marino Member Adjusters
Robert Millis Member Adjusters

General Insurance Council

Name Position Representing
Dwayne Johnston Chairperson Direct Writers
Ross Bucsis Vice-Chair Insurance Brokers
Ashley Ziprick Member Insurance Brokers
Destiny Timmerman Member General Insurance
Vacant Member Public
Vacant Member Public
Amanda Sawatzky Member Direct Writers
David Maurice Member Insurance Brokers

Life Insurance Council

Name Position Representing
Andy Freeman Chair Life Companies
Vacant Vice-Chair Public
Tammy Hynes Member Life Companies
Kenneth Doll Member Life Agents
Usman Mahmood Member Public
C.J. Omoth Member Life Agents
Name Position
Gwen Harris Public Chair
Thomas S. Kent Public Chair
Mary Marshall Public Chair
Bob Pearson Adjuster
Silvano Giacchetta Adjuster
Chris Gentle Adjuster
Lewis Moorman Adjuster
Morgan Anderson General
Nicole Boyer General
Duncan Hecht General
Amanda McKee General
David Brittain Life
Jason Zdyb Life
Trevor Johnston Life
Myrna Kwasnecha Life
Name Position
Amina Deiab, MPP, ICD.D Chief Executive Officer
Carolyn Janz CPA,CA Chief Financial Officer and VP Administration – Edmonton
Tarun Walia Chief Information Officer and VP Business Innovation – Calgary
Brent Rathgeber, KC General Counsel, Corporate Secretary, VP for Legal and Corporate Affairs– Edmonton
Zabeda Yaqoob, KC Director of Legal and Regulatory Affairs – Calgary
Joseph Fernandez Registrar – Calgary
Sam Park Director of Finance – Edmonton
Laura Ly Director of Communications – Edmonton